top of page
Search
  • independentpanoram

INTERVIEW WITH FILMMAKER LIFE TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNER MARIO ROCCATO.


1) How You Came To The Idea Of Writing About A Love ?

I believe that the emotion of love is the one that best characterizes the human being as such, because it represents the drive towards something infinite and, therefore, eternal. In this, love is an inevitable illusion of living. I chose the title "Write..." As a love you can try to talk, but every word will eventually be insufficient to describe the emotion of infinity that love always brings with it: mine was therefore an attempt to talk about love, without the presumption of being able to really describe it.


2) Please tell us what inspired you to enter into the world of films?

Since I was a child I always thought that, one day, I would be a director; but only today, with the current digital cameras, I was able to realize my ancient dream with a very low cost. I love cinema because it is the possible synthesis of various arts: the image, the word, the music: these three arts, together, make it unique in the panorama of human creative possibilities. For me, to be able to review and edit images that have been shot, it is always a strong emotion: maybe I chose to enter the cinema because I really love it.

3) Please tell us about your upcoming projects.

I have already written the screenplays for three other films on the theme of love, where love is analyzed from different points of view, in an attempt to highlight both the magnitude and the inevitable problems.


Although the costs of the next films will be very limited, I don’t have the money to make them myself, and for that I will need a small producer.

4) How important is the role of Music Director plays while making a film like Writing About A Love?

This role has been of radical importance to me. Suffice it to say that many of the editing choices depended on the musical suggestions that the master Marco Sala had given me: his music was for me a film in the same film, and without it I could not get everything I wanted. Music is emotion, image, discourse, as much as the image and the dialogues must be in turn the invitation for every spectator to feel - in the intimate - the rhythm of the heart that beats in the actors. Regarding the actors, I owe them the greatest thanks because they have been able to penetrate the soul of my characters with great depth and great professionalism.


5) How do you choose a script that you are going to direct?

I believe that a screenplay should be chosen to the extent that the director feels it in the depths of his heart: you don’t get a good result if the story you want to tell is not part of us. Every script is like a child when you have to give birth to it.


6) Who are your favorite filmmakers?

I have loved many directors, but what I always carry in my heart is Ingmar Bergman: I believe that this master has been able to bring theater into cinema, and cinema on a stage where his characters play the authentic drama of life. His cinema was pure philosophy.

7) What do you think the audience like to watch these days?

I believe that the tendency is to see action films or police investigations, or pure entertainment; but I think that these choices are today mainly induced by the current rules of the market, as well as by a certain cultural impoverishment. However, I believe that there is a good part of the audience that also wants, if not above all, to see true auteur films, the so-called "arthouse cinema", even if the offer of the market is definitely missing in this sector.


8) What advice would you give to someone starting a career in filmmaking?

When I asked my father to make me study to become a "director", he did not oppose me, but he told me something that, after a long time, I finally understood: "To be a director you will have to be a mature man, and therefore you will have to learn many things in life...!". How he was right! I think you can also become a filmmaker by learning a kind of "craft" but, in order to emerge, aspiring filmmakers will have to consider cinema as a work of art, and not as a simple instrument of the show.


9) Do you like to read books?

I’ve read a lot in my life, and I’ve learned from books almost everything I now claim to know.


10) What are your goals when you make a film?

Maybe my goal is to see that some people, in the end, are getting excited by watching my film. I really believe that creating an emotion in the viewer must be the main objective of every author: a picture hanging on a wall must not be just an element of the decor of a house, or the result of a profitable investment of money, but the invitation to "fly" towards something wider than the banality of everyday life.


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page